Exclusive Interview : Bradley Bubb Special

Remember seeing this on twitter? Well I speak to the man who scored it. 

Bradley Bubb started off his footballing career as a youngster at Hendon and Queens Park Rangers.

In 2006 he moved to Chalfront ST Peter where he went onto score over 50 goals in two years before making another successful move to Beaconsfield SYCOB, where the striker netted 32 goals in 42 games. 

Farnborough were next to sign the forward in 2009. Bubb went onto score 40 goals for the Non-League side.
Bubb signed for Aldershot in June 2011 on a two-year deal. He made his Football League debut on the 13th August 2011. 

A number of loan moves featured in Bubb’s career whilst signed onto Aldershot. 

These included spells at Basingstoke Town, Eastleigh and Woking.

Bubb won the Conference South Player of the Month award in February 2012.

Bradley Bubb
Bradley Bubb
After leaving Aldershot, Bubb went to play in Belgium joining Royal Antwerp. 

He described the experience as “amazing.” 

The Grenada international returned to the Recreation Ground in January 2014. 

Bubb was released at the end of the season. A spell at Havant & Waterlooville followed before signing for current club Oxford City.

Bubb recently caught the media’s attention with a spectacular wonder goal from the centre circle whilst playing for Oxford City.

Bradley Bubb representing Grenada in a match against Jamaica
Bradley Bubb representing Grenada in a match against Jamaica
The striker has made a number of appearances for his national side Grenada since making his debut in November 2010.


How did you get into football and what are your first footballing memories?

I got into football through my dad and family, they all played football so it was natural I was going to follow. My first memories of football was watching my Dad play in the pouring rain, I must have been about four.

What was it like being part of the QPR set up?

I really enjoyed it. I was only there on a non contract basis but it was a good experience. We had some good talent in my age group such as Kieron St Aimie, Scott Donnelly, and Ray Jones, plus many more.

You scored over 30 goals for Chalfront St Peter, Beaconsfield SYCOB, and Farnborough. Is this where you enjoyed your football the most?

Yeah my most enjoyable time was at Farnborough. We had one of the best teams I have ever played in. There was so much talent, and we used to smash teams all the time, so obviously winning is enjoyable.

How have loan deals played a part in your career, especially in terms of developing as a player?

The loans have been good to me, I’ve learnt a lot from other managers, and different styles of play, plus I scored goals when I went out on loan. But mainly, you can pick up a lot so they’re good.

How did you find your time at Royal Antwerp?

I loved it at Antwerp, the football and the culture was amazing. 

I remember making my debut, 15,000 fans were singing “HULK HULK” because that was my Twitter name at the time and it was great. 

The only thing is that I didn’t make that many appearances due to the amount of strikers we had. I was fifth choice so that was difficult but I still loved it over there.

Bradley Bubb during his time in Belgium
Bradley Bubb during his time in Belgium
How different is the football in Belgium when comparing it to England?

The football is so much better, more tactical and also very technical. The standard was high and when I was there I developed loads as a player. I’d advise any English player to go there and they will develop.

What was it like playing your first game for Grenada?

My first game for Grenada was amazing, just thinking to myself, I’m representing my dads country. It was a very proud moment for me and my family, plus my older brother was playing so it was a great experience.

You scored an absolute wonder goal for Oxford City recently, what made you take the long distance shot?

The keeper was off his line so me and (Darren Pond) Pondy had a look and we said: “Who’s going to do it?” 

I said: “I’ll do it.” So I just hit it. Thankfully it went in.

Is this the best goal you’ve scored and what emotions ran through your mind at the time?

Yeah it is, when I hit it I knew instantly it was in and I started celebrating before it went in but I was buzzing to have scored a goal like that.

Where do you see Oxford finishing this season?

I see us up there in the Play-Off area. We are a very good team and playing the best football in the league. A few managers have even said that themselves, so I think we will do very well and we have some really good players.

How have you prepared for this season compared to any previous years?

I’ve just done what I always do. I get mentally focused, and physically ready. 

Putting in the hard work in pre-season and getting yourself ready for the season. 

It’s a long hard season, so you have to be ready at all times.

Bradley Bubb at Aldershot
Bradley Bubb at Aldershot
Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

I see myself hopefully still playing and still scoring, but also having a successful property services company. 

It’s up and running at the moment, it’s called Bubbs Property Services, so hopefully I’ll be pushing for some big contacts and can develop people’s houses and doing their home maintenance.


Thank you Bradley for taking the time to answer these questions.

One comment

Leave a comment