SAM COX: BEING AT THE CLUB AND WORKING WITH SOME REALLY GENUINE PEOPLE HAS BEEN AN EXPERIENCE THAT I’VE ENJOYED.

Following a short break from his club career, former Tottenham Hotspur youngster Sam Cox signed for National league South side, Wealdstone on a non-contract basis.

The 26-year-old has an array of experience to his name having played for a number of sides such as Barnet and Boreham Wood.

cox3

Sam Cox in action for Wealdstone.

Cox, who captains his country Guyana has shown a real passion to succeed throughout his career at both international and club level.

Wealdstone are currently 11th in the National League South with 43 points to their name, six points off rivals, St. Albans City who are in 8th position.

As the season draws to a close, the former Hayes & Yeading United player has spoken about how he is finding life at Grosvenor Vale.

With a turnaround in results, things are on the up for The Stones who are looking to fight for promotion next season. 

cox3

Sam Cox (centre) is enjoying his time as captain of Guyana

How are you finding life at Wealdstone? A side you joined after being a free agent for a number of months following your departure form Boreham Wood.

Being at the club and working with some really genuine people and playing in front of real passionate non-league fans has been an experience that I’ve enjoyed.

Of course, if you look at the league table and where we sit I’m not going to say I am happy with that. I came here to succeed and gain promotion so if I was to say I was happy with the league standing then I would be lying to the fans, the club and myself.

For the talent we have in the dressing room we know we have underachieved as a collective. With the personnel and on paper we should be sitting a lot higher in the table and closer to the play-off spots without a doubt. There has been an inconsistency in performances which has been our downfall. Saying that, Rome wasn’t built in a day. It is a new side and sometimes it takes time and patience for a team to gel. I remember at Boreham Wood it took three seasons, with generally the main core of team sticking together, for us to gain promotion. Yes, there were slight tweaks from season to season but the foundations of the squad rarely changed. It took us those three years to create a real team spirit and a style of play and philosophy which everyone bought in to.

Things don’t just happen overnight. Just ask Ebbsfleet, who have been throwing money for the past five years and still find themselves in the National League South. Things take time to manifest. Money is not always the answer either. It’s hard work on the training pitch over a long period of time, team spirit and everyone singing from the same hymn sheet.

So yes, this far this season has been an underachievement, without a doubt. The last couple of weeks we have shown a different side to our game. A bit more grit and maybe a less attractive style of football but most definitely a more effective one. We are now a lot more solid at the back and across the middle of the park, consequently we’ve kept four clean sheets out of the last four games and are unbeaten in six.

17015207_10158273490220331_606333903_o

Sam Cox is captain of Wealdstone.

We’ve put in some really grinding performances especially against Welling and most recently against local rivals St. Albans where I feel by limiting their chances we have gone on to dominate the game.

The building blocks are in place and I’m sure the Chairman and Gaffer are already discussing ways in which this can change next year whether that be adding new personnel to the squad in order for us to compete seriously next season. We have some really good talented players in the changing room who are capable of playing at a higher level.

When they are firing on all cylinders and put in performances like they did against Southport it’s a winning formula. I think the team’s performance against National League outfit Southport was a clear example of that. Team spirit, grit, determination to go along with the technical finesse and flowing football. However, consistency has been our biggest downfall this season. It’s something that has been addressed and worked on in training so like I said before, hopefully our recent run of form has shown that we can be more of a cohesive unit and long may it continue.

17078548_10158273487440331_1761026063_n

Sam Cox

What are your plans for next season?

Next season I haven’t really thought too much about to be honest. Like I said, I’m focusing on the challenge of this season and helping Wealdstone finish as high up the table as possible. We also have a county cup final to look forward to at the end of the season against Hampton and Richmond which should be a good day out for the fans and players.

Of course, I’m an ambitious person and want to be playing as high as I possibly can. I’m on a non-contract deal here and I had a few offers from other clubs around the Christmas/January period but I said I was happy where I was and committed to giving my best for the club and for the fans. I’m sure come season end, discussions will take place between myself, Chairman and Gaffer regarding next season but until that happens I’m focused on the task at hand.

17093804_10158273486315331_16110_n

Sam Cox

When do you feel will be the right time to drop out of playing in order to become a full-time coach?

I still feel as though I have a good few years of playing before I think of dropping out to pursue a career of management and full time coaching.

When I start feeling I can’t perform certain aspects of my game, or the enjoyment goes that’s when I’ll start to consider it.

When the love goes that’s when I know it’s time for me to call it a day however the passion and hunger to succeed with my playing career is very much still there.

I’m 26 now but I’m still learning new things every day and I enjoy bettering myself. I want to win more trophies and individual awards and I want to keep representing my country. I have dreams one day that I’ll lead Guyana out into a major tournament and I feel I still have time to do that.

17036839_10158273497705331_319861471_o

Sam Cox has been coaching at Tottenham Hotspur, the side he grew up at as a youth player.

Leave a Reply

