Dan Jezeph speaks about his Tamworth debut and life before The Lamb Ground

Former Walsall goalkeeper, Dan Jezeph made his Tamworth debut yesterday as the Lambs drew 1-1 with Worcester.

The young shot stopper had previously been on loan at Rugby getting first team football to his name before manager, Andy Morrell gave hime a shot in The Lambs’ first team.

mfldwauw

Dan Jezeph made his Tamworth debut yesterday.

Jezeph, who started his career in the West Brom youth ranks filled the space of senior goalkeeper, James Belshaw who was sidelined with an injury.

The former Rugby loanee spoke to ElWriteBack about his football career prior to his Tamworth debut and what he wants in the future.

pic_jezeph

Dan Jezeph

When asked about the start of his career, Jezeph said: “My career started at West Brom as a young goalkeeper.

“I signed at the age of 10 from Sutton Town, my local Sunday league team, which I never used to be a goalkeeper as I was originally starting as an outfield player.

“Never getting into the team at Sutton, the only place left was goalkeeper which is where it all started.

“West Brom was a great experience, being there facilities wise was great for me. I was there for six years and was part of the new EPPP system meant I moved school over to Sandwell and went into full time training at West Brom.

“I loved my time there and had great coaches such as Jack Stern and Mark Naylor.”

stern620

Jack Stern now works in the MLS with Montreal Impact.

“I then got released but at the age of 16 I got a scholarship at Walsall which was great for me as it was only down the road and there was an opportunity to get into first team with not many goalkeepers ahead of me.

“My time there was great, Neil Cutler the goalkeeper coach helped me improved so much over the time I was there and he really knew his stuff. He also helped me as a person grow to who I am today and I have to put everything I have pretty much learnt down to him. So I couldn’t thank him enough for that bit.

“Unfortunately things didn’t work out wth my pro contract and I was released.”

wa2

Dan Jezeph enjoyed his time at Walsall.

Following his release from Walsall, Jozeph dropped down to non-league when he signed for National League North side, Tamworth.

Speaking about this move, the young goalkeeper said: “Dropping down to non-league wasn’t much of a choice, it just happened after being released so late from Walsall, not many clubs wanted a goalkeeper or needed one.

“Then a trial at Tamworth came up, I took it and since then I have been here playing for the Under 21’s but then eventually I have moved up to the first team.

“When I was not playing I asked to go on loan to Rugby where I played my first proper men’s football match and I loved it!

“I loved the test, the physical side of things and the part where points actually matter on the competitive side.

“Then I got the call from gaffer (Andy Morrell) to be ready for Saturday as Bells (James Belshaw) was struggling with an injury. I felt ready to play in this league.”

cajlfmjwiaewd-p

After being an unused sub at Walsall (pictured), Dan Jezeph made his first appearance in the senior game on loan at Rugby.

After receiving a phone call from Morrell, Jozeph made his first team debut last weekend against Worcester City, the goalkeeper went on to say: “The debut itself went really well, I was nervous before the game but Bells and Lee (Lee Evans) were really supportive as well as all of the other staff and players at the club.

“I felt confident going into the game and after my first couple of catches from crosses as well as my kicking being decent I fell into the game so easily and it just felt normal.

“The lads were great towards me and had full trust in me which felt good.

“After the game everybody was very congratulating me on how I did aswell as it being all over Twitter and everything!”

“From this point, I hope to get a few more games until Bells is fit again and hopefully try keep him out of the team for as long as possible! But Bells is a great keeper and I’m sure he will be on top form soon again.

“Hopefully this has shown the gaffer and coaching team that I’m good enough to be at the club next year and have a chance of getting into the first team.”

chkw4xow4aaqs8m

Dan Jezeph played well in his Tamworth Debut.

Leave a Reply

