EXCLUSIVE KRIS BRIGHT Q&A: LIFE WITH DAVID HEALY’S LINFIELD FC

Last summer Kris Bright signed for David Healy’s Linfield FC on a one-year deal following a spell with South African side, Bidvest Wits.

The forward is an experienced individual having played for number of clubs during his career including: Shrewsbury Town, Balzan and Lincoln City.

88485235

Kris Bright has represented his country.

Linfield are currently second in the Danske Bank Premiership Table on 49 points after 24 league games.

The Blues are just seven points behind league leaders, Crusaders who have won 17 games in comparison to Linfield’s 14.

When the two sides faced each other on New Years Eve, Linfield came out on top in a 2-1 win which reduced the gap between the two sides.

With Linfield having a better goal difference of 35 to their name, all is still to play for in the Northern Irish top flight.

New Zealand international, Kris Bright spoke exclusively to ElWriteBack on how he is finding life at Windsor Park.

104288186

Kris Bright in action for Shrewsbury.

Last summer you signed for Northern Irish side, Linfield. How have you settled in at Windsor Park?

It’s a lovely place with great facilities. The people at the club have been very helpful. If I was playing a bit more and didn’t get the injuries I got during the start of the season, then it may have been different but I am enjoying my time here.

Having played for a number of sides around the world during your career, how have you found The NIFL Premiership so far?

It’s quite rushed and physical. We are a big club in the league so especially when we play at home, a lot of teams set up not to lose, so there isn’t much football played. Every so often we play against a team who really want to play, then the football is more enjoyable, but overall, the league is more hectic than what I am used to.

56691918

Kris Bright (right) in action for New Zealand Knights.

How has David Healy helped develop you as a player?

I knew of David before I came in and he played a big part in me signing. I know he hasn’t been a manager for long, but he is fantastic. He has good staff around him which also helps but he has the respect of the players and he treats us well. I wish I could have contributed more so far to repay the faith, but he is patient and hopefully I can pay him back in time.

Linfield are currently second in the league. How do you plan on taking the top spot from Crusaders?

By beating them! We did it a couple of weeks ago at their ground, but more importantly, we need to improve our home form against the other teams. Crusaders seem to manage lots of late goals to seal the three points which we have only done on a couple of occasions. I think to take top spot we need to be more consistent over the remainder of the season.

56082172

Kris Bright (right) is happy to be playing football following a serious injury this time last year which ruled him out.

With 24 league games played this season, how will the side continue to perform until March?

There are many games coming thick and fast, so squad rotation will be very important. We have got a lot of injuries at the moment to key players so we need to get everyone fit. We need to get a good run of wins again in order to boost our confidence back up but many of the players have won silverware before over here so they have the experience to know what to do.

You are currently on a one-year deal. Where do you see yourself next season?

I am not sure. This time last year I was so badly injured I could barely walk, so I am just happy to be able to play again. Obviously it hasn’t been a great start, but I have scored goals my whole career and once I get some confidence back and get fully fit, I’m sure I will score goals for the club. As for next season, I really don’t know what it will bring, but I’m under no illusions that I need to get in to double figures to get noticed again!

98694519

Kris Bright (pictured playing for Shrewsbury) is looking forward to getting on the score sheet for Linfield.

Leave a Reply

