QPR’S FUTURE GOALKEEPER REFLECTS ON HIS FIRST YEAR AT LOFTUS ROAD

ElWriteBack has spoken exclusively to one of Queens Park Rangers’ up and coming talents, Myles Bowman. 

15871780_1188972937818088_8753118010475416148_n

Myles Bowman is enjoying his time at Loftus Road.

The young goalkeeper joined Queen’s Park Rangers’ youth setup in February 2016 following an impressive spell with his local Sunday league team.

Bowman, who is still only 17 years old has started to train with first team goalkeepers: Matt Ingram who joined from Wycombe Wanderers last year and Joe Lumley who progressed through the QPR youth team ranks following a spell with Tottenham Hotspur’s Academy.

The talented goalkeeper has spoken to former Football Blog Award nominated website, ElWriteBack about his first year with QPR.

14102181_1053308341384549_7554729801380073770_n

Myles Bowman with fellow QPR goalkeepers.

When asked about how he is finding life at Loftus Road, Bowman said: “I’ve only been at the club and actually only been in academy football since last year, before that I was just playing Sunday league with my local club so it is a massive difference in skill and expectation.

“I feel I have progessed well in this first year and look forward to seeing how much I can grow as a goalkeeper.”

With the likes of Alex Smithies and Matt Ingram in the QPR first team, Bowman went on to speak about how a young goalkeeper can lookup to these individuals: “Even though I am a young goalkeeper I often train with the senior keepers like Matt Ingram, Joe Lumley and a few more and it’s amazing how much you can learn by just watching how they do things.

“Obviously being so young, the next few years are vital and I need to be improving day in, day out to try reach my full potential.”

11891149_864501513598567_8425792447693608717_n

Myles Bowman is training with a number of senior players.

One option young players have is to go out on loan in order to gain first team experience, when asked about if this was something he would consider, Bowman said: “Right now I’m not really thinking about loan moves as I’m just concentrating on enjoying my football at QPR but as I get older and I see the pros of going on loan, which include things such as: gaining first team experience, playing more games, playing in lower competitive leagues and getting my name out there mostly!”

The goalkeeper finished by speaking about his future: “I believe to be the best you have to aim high so I see myself playing in the first team and potentially in the U23 England squad in five years time.”

13103307_983565158358868_6811159715733484827_n

Myles Bowman, a name to look out for in the future.

One thought on “QPR’S FUTURE GOALKEEPER REFLECTS ON HIS FIRST YEAR AT LOFTUS ROAD

  1. Pingback: Preview: Queens Park Rangers vs Huddersfield Town | Charlie Russell: elwriteback

Leave a Reply

