Pembroke Athleta sign Matthew Calleja Cremona

Pembroke Athleta FC have announced the signing of goalkeeper, Matthew Calleja Cremona.

cremona]

Matthew Calleja Cremona

Cremona has returned to the club where he learnt his trade before moving to Floriana.

If the goalkeeper is to make his debut in the Premier League with Athleta, then this would mean that he has played in all Maltese competitions with his childhood club.

The Maltese U21 was released from Floriana earlier this month after the signing of Justin Haber.

Cremona posted a statement on his Facebook page saying, “I would like to take this difficult time to appreciate the progress made and set my mind to this challenging season ahead, to retain our premier league status.”

The former Floriana man had impressed for The Greens in pre-season but was not seen to be in the club’s future plans.

matt cremona

Charlie Russell (left) and Matthew Calleja Cremona during his time at Floriana (right)

Cremona spoke to ElWriteBack about the move saying, “It was not an easy decision to leave Floriana in the first place and in addition to this it was also difficult to choose between the two offers I received from Pembroke and Hamrun, but after these decisions were made I will not find it difficult to settle in to the environment of Pembroke since I grew up at this club.”

The goalkeeper went on to say, “I would like to thank all of the Floriana fans that followed the team especially those who had supported me in difficult times in order to lift me back up on my feet.”

Finally, Cremona finished by speaking about his future, “My plans for the future are to retain my club’s Premier League status and to work even harder in order to fulfil my dream in representing my nation at senior level.”

mcc

Matthew Calleja Cremona has left Floriana.

Leave a Reply

