Project Malta Diary: Arrival and Rabat Ajax

I arrived in Malta on Sunday after months of anticipation. In the build up to my trip I have spoken to a number of Maltese footballers who are all happy to meet up with me, which will result in around three exclusive interviews for ElWriteBack.

DSC_0507

Rabat Ajax had a “Non-League Vibe”

I am also going to be reporting on a handful of pre-season fixtures, this is something I am looking forward to as this will be the first game away from England on which I have reported on. It will also give me an insight on Maltese football.

The first fixture I will be reporting on is Floriana vs Maltese First Division side Sirens, tomorrow night. This fixture will be my first Maltese football match and I am excited about seeing Matthew Calleja Cremona play, someone who I have spoken to on a regular basis in the build up to my trip, so keep an eye out for my report live from the Victor Tedesco Stadium!

Going back to looking at the main subject of this article, Rabat Ajax. This is the first team I have visited in Malta and I was pleasantly surprised with the community feel to the club, something I feel is seen within Non-League football back in England. Aside from the community feel, the main vibe around the club is that of an English Non-League side.

I spoke to Luke Micallef this morning about Rabat Ajax as he contacted me following my approach to the club. Luke kindly offered to open the ground up for me and provided me with lots of information about the club.

ground2

Rabat Ajax’s respectable ground.

Whilst driving home from Rabat’s Stadium, I came across the club’s supporters club/bar. This again added to the feel of a proper community club as there were three tables of elderly Ajax fans playing cards. The décor also showed pride of the club’s history with almost every squad photo, including those of the famous 1985 and 86 Championship winning seasons.

I will continue to write about my trips to football clubs in Malta as well as the pre-season friendlies I am attending.

cups

Today I visited Rabat Ajax’s Supporters Club, image taken with the side’s trophy cabinet.

One thought on “Project Malta Diary: Arrival and Rabat Ajax

Leave a Reply

