SAM COX DISCUSSES HIS TIME AT BOREHAM WOOD, CAPTAINING GUYANA AND HIS FUTURE IN FOOTBALL

Sam Cox has achieved great things in recent years. The Guyana international recently left Boreham Wood, the club he captained last season and is now ready for a fresh challenge. 

sam coxxx

Sam Cox has recently been given the Guyana captain’s armband.

Cox was recently named Guyana national team captain ahead of the second round in the CFU Caribbean Cup.

cox vs arsenal

Sam Cox (left) vs Arsenal during his time at Barnet.

You announced you would be leaving Boreham Wood last month. How hard of a decision was this to make?

It was difficult to say goodbye of course. I spent four fantastic years at the club making nearly 150 appearances. I won cups, promotions, two “Player of the Season” awards, and I was also named as Club Captain. I have also made some life long friends along the way.

I think that being a local lad, living just around the corner from the ground made it that much harder. I had a special bond with the fans, who were always so supportive of me from day one.

However, in the end, I felt it was the right time for me to move on and start a new chapter in my career. It was well documented that things became difficult for me towards the back end of the season, after I left for international duty in March.

It’s a shame how things ended at the club and how I was treated, but I will pick myself up, dust myself off and go again. I don’t look back in anger and I wish everyone at the club the best of luck for the future.

For me now, I’m very much looking forward to a new challenge and experience away from Meadow Park, but I will never forget those special moments that will live in my memory forever.

sam cox bw

Sam Cox is the former captain of Boreham Wood.

What was your biggest achievement with the club?

I can look back at my time with the club and be proud of what I have achieved.

Initially, I arrived at the club off the back of a season long loan from the parent club, Barnet. In my first season, we achieved our highest league position in the club’s history and I went on to win the “Player’s Player of the Season” award.

During the 2013/14 season we had our best run in the FA Cup, whilst it was also an honour to captain the side to the Herts Senior Cup at the end of the season.

Of course the following season was something special. The 2014/2015 season is one which will go down as one of my proudest moments in football, winning the Conference South Play Off Final against Whitehawk. I was also awarded the “Chairman’s Player of the Season” accolade off the back of this. It made it a season I will never forget.

For the 2015/16 season, it was an honour to be announced as the Club Captain ahead of the club’s first ever season in the National League. Although my season didn’t quite pan out to how I expected, I can say I played my part in helping the club maintain their National League status, statistically having the best win/clean sheet ratio when I played.

cox14

Sam Cox will be looking for a new club when he returns from international duty.

What’s next for Sam Cox’s career?

I’m currently away on International duty with Guyana in the second round of the Caribbean Cup, so my primary focus at this stage is to help us advance in the competition.

As for next season, I’ve been in contact with a few clubs but it’s still early days. As I said, my main focus has been on helping Guyana progress but when I’m back in England, I will sit down with my close circle, discuss the options and I’m sure the right decision will be made.

cox2

Sam Cox (right) is proud to captain Guyana.

You continue to represent the Guyana national team as well as coach at Tottenham Hotspur. Are these two things which have aided you to stay involved with football whilst being a free agent?

Representing Guyana is a huge honour for me. For the past year, I’ve been fortunate enough to play on the international stage and experience some unforgettable moments.

I’ve recently been named as the new National Team Captain, which for me is my proudest achievement in my career so far. It is every boy’s dream to play internationally and all I’ve ever wanted to do was play football and make my family and friends proud.

In my opinion, because of my decision to represent Guyana, it triggered a change of behaviour towards me. I always tried to remain professional and respect my contract throughout by not speaking publicly regarding the situation.

The attitude shown towards me and some of the things which were said both online and in person were disrespectful, and left me feeling outcasted and devalued. As I’ve said before I don’t wish to go into too much detail, as I would like to reflect on my time with the club as a positive rather than a negative.

As for my role at Spurs, I’m very much enjoying helping develop the younger generation as well as also supporting the community work with the Tottenham Hotspur Foundation. I’m still developing as a coach whilst playing, and I believe my international experiences have helped me do so even more. I completed my UEFA B license earlier in the year and next season I would love to have a more integral role within the academy, whilst also progressing with my A License.

cox

Sam Cox spent time at Tottenham Hotspur and captained their U16 side as well as the club’s reserves.

Would you consider a move abroad if the opportunity came around?

Yes, of course. If the right opportunity presented itself, I would most definitely consider a move abroad. I’ve been blessed to see so many parts of the world through football and I would love to see more, so why wouldn’t I consider it if the right deal came up?

For now, my future is still undecided but I’m excited to see what the future holds for Sam Cox. I’m confident God will put me in the right place at the right time, to help me grow as a player and as a person.

trining spurs

TO BUY THIS SPURS TRAINING SHIRT CLICK THE IMAGE.

Leave a Reply

