SERIAL GOAL SCORER JOHN AKINDE SPEAKS ABOUT HIS JOURNEY TO BARNET

The talented forward has currently scored 21 league goals this season and is third in the race for the Football League Two golden boot award.

Akinde has been one of Barnet’s key players following a move from Alfreton in May 2014.

akinde

John Akinde has been a key player since joining Barnet in 2014.

Non-League reporter, Charlie Russell speaks to the former Bristol City striker about his career.


 

You played for a number of non-league sides before signing for Bristol City. How big was the step up to the Football League?

My time at those clubs was vital, it enabled me to gain the first team experience that I needed before moving on to develop myself.

You scored on your debut against Plymouth Argyle. What do you remember from this game?

I remember it all! I remember coming on at half time desperate to impress, running around like a headless chicken. I remember the cross from Jamie McAllister, I was at the back post for the tap in. It was an unbelievable feeling, one that will live with me forever.

akinde3.jpg

John Akinde is enjoying life at Barnet.

You had a number of loan spells during your time with Bristol. How did these help you develop as a player?

Again, these loans helped me as I made a big jump up the leagues, so in order to find myself as a player and continue my football development these loans spells were a great experience.

akinde2

John Akinde during his time at Bristol City.

You signed for a newly promoted Crawley Town in 2011. What was different about the club in comparison to what you experienced at Bristol City?

Things were different but not by much, obviously the standard in the leagues was different and at Bristol the stadium and training ground were better but that was to be expected. Crawley were a very well ran club and tried to be very professional as the club’s promotion showed.

Following a brief spell with Portsmouth in 2013 you joined Alfreton. Was this the best thing to do for your career at the time?

Yes, it was very much needed. My years at Bristol, Crawley and Portsmouth were mostly spent on the bench so apart from the loan spells I was only getting 10/20 minutes here and there for the best part of five years. So I made a decision that I needed to play games week in week out and that is what Alfreton provided. I really enjoyed my season there.

You scored a hat-trick against Salisbury in your second game for Alfreton. How did this help you settle into the club quickly?

It was great to get on the score sheet. It was important to get off to a good start, so I was delighted.

akinde5.jpg

John Akinde

Barnet signed you in 2014. Was this an opportunity you couldn’t turn down?

Alfreton were part time and I felt I needed to be back playing full time football while still playing regularly so I made the decision to not pursue Football League interest as Barnet were keen.

During your first season with the club you scored 33 goals. Has this been the highlight of your career so far?

There have been a few highlights in my career but this was a special moment scoring 33 goals that season and winning the league was also a great achievement.

What was it like being the 2014/15 Conference Champions?

It was an amazing feeling being crowned champions after a hard season. I still can’t believe it sometimes as only one side gets automatically promoted and we were that team!

barnet.jpg

John Akinde was part of Barnet’s promotion winning side.

Finally, what are your plans for next season as the 2015/16 season draws to a close?

My plans are to go and score more goals and play well.

shirt22.jpg

2013 Barnet ‘Underhill 1907-2013’ Limited Edition Home Shirt – AVAILABLE AT CLASSIC FOOTBALL SHIRTS – CLICK IMAGE TO VIEW

Leave a Reply

