NOTTINGHAM FOREST GOALKEEPER TIM ERLANDSSON TALKS ABOUT HIS TIME AT THE CITY GROUND

The goalkeeper spent time on loan at Nottingham Forest during the 2014/15 season.

Tim Erlandsson impressed coaches at The City Ground during his time on loan which lead to the youngster being rewarded with a three-year contract.

tim4

Tim Erlandsson (right)

Erlandsson started his career at Halmstads BK. The young goalkeeper signed for Nottingham Forest’s youth side on loan during the 2014/15 season.

Halmstads director, Fredrik Andersson commented on the loan deal saying, “He will get a good education in England.”

After establishing himself in the U18’s, Forest activated the option to purchase the Swedish goalkeeper on a permanent deal in the summer of 2015.

Erlandsson has been seen as a long term replacement for former Goalkeeper, Karl Darlow who left the side in 2014 when he signed for Newcastle United. (Darlow returned on loan for the 2014/15 season.)

darlow

Karl Darlow now plays for Newcastle United.

Charlie Russell speaks to the young goalkeeper about his time in Sweden and how he’s settled into The City Ground.

You signed a professional contract in June 2015. How has your career progressed since this?

Yes, it was a big honor for me to sign a professional and permanent contract with Nottingham Forest last summer. It’s been a season with a lot of ups and downs. I’ve felt very homesick at times and I have been struggling a bit with myself. I have also been unlucky with a few injuries. Now I’m fully fit and I feel stronger than ever. I am fully focused to finish of this season in a great way.

What was your time at Halmstads BK like?

I started playing football at the age of six at Halmstads BK so I’m thankful for my time at the club. I’ve got great memories from my youth career back in Halmstad and all the coaches and teammates I’ve had there throughout the years have helped me to be the player and person I am today.

tim3

Tim Erlandsson during his time in Sweden.

How different is English football compared to what you experienced in Sweden?

I think that the biggest difference is the intensity and physicality in training and games. I experienced a bit of a shock when I first came here last summer and had my first training session and game, but that is something you grow into over a little bit of time.

You were part of the Swedish U19 side. How big of an achievement is this?

I made some appearances at U19 level and of course it’s a great honor to play for the national team of Sweden. It has given me valuable experience which I’m obviously taking with me for the future.

tim5

Tim Erlandsson representing his national side.

How do you wish to improve as a footballer within the next 12 months?

I just want to take the opportunity everyday to become better and better in all kinds of areas. I have to work hard to achieve what I want. I’ve got a great opportunity to be in a club like Nottingham Forest and to get the chance to develop as a goalkeeper every single day.

Will you be considering a loan move to a lower league side next season?

I’m always looking for ways to become better and gain good experiences to push me forward. If an opportunity for a loan move became an option for the next season I would probably consider that!

tim7

Tim Erlandsson (left)

A number of great goalkeepers such as Peter Shilton have played for Forest. Do you wish to go onto become a club legend?

Yes, there have been some great goalkeepers playing for the club in the past and to join that list as a club legend would be unbelievable!

Where do you see yourself in 10 years time?

Hopefully I’ll be playing in a top league week in and week out and achieve great things! My dream has always been to become successful in football so with hard work and dedication I’ll maybe be there one day!

How can you learn from the experienced Dorus De Vries?

Dorus is a great goalkeeper and just by watching and being close to him in training can help me improve my own game a lot. I would say, his experience is something very valuable for a young goalkeeper like me so it’s a great thing to be at the same club as a guy like Dorus and have the chance to see him close in action!

keepers

Karl Darlow (left) and Dorus De Vries (right)

Finally, if you weren’t a goalkeeper what position do you think you would play?

Haha, well I WOULD like to play as a striker and score goals for my team, maybe create a deadly attacking force with Zlatan Ibrahimovic! But I think that I would probably be somewhere in the back four, probably as a centre back. Just to make it clear, it’s nothing I would really consider so I promise I won’t leave my place between the sticks.

tim

Tim Erlandsson

Leave a Reply

