AUXERRE TRIALIST NICK GHIO TALKS ABOUT HIS TIME IN FRANCE AND THE 2014 U17 EUROS

Nick Ghio currently plays in defence for Pietà Hotspurs.

The Maltese defender has represented the Maltese U19 international side on a number of occasions.

Ghio recently attended a trial at Ligue 2 side, AJ Auxerre.

ghio1

Nick Ghio

You recently went on trial at Auxerre in France. How did you find your time at the club?

It was a very nice experience for me because I got the opportunity to see what it’s like to live a professional lifestyle as a footballer. I enjoyed every second of the experience.

auex

Nick Ghio recently went on trial at AJ Auxerre.

A number of Maltese players have expressed their desire to move abroad. Is this something you are looking to do in the near future?

I believe that it is the dream of every football player to have the opportunity to take it to the next level. This has been my dream since I was a child and the chance to move abroad still is.

auxerre

Nick Ghio outside the AJ Auxerre training centre.

You had a disappointing spell at Luxol. Was this down to you being played out of position?

I wouldn’t say it was a disappointing time because I suffered a series of injuries during my time at Luxol but I made eight Premier League appearances which gave me a taste of the highest level of football in Malta. I also made some good friends at Luxol and I would consider my time there as a great experience as I learnt a lot.

You are currently playing at Pietà Hotspurs. How are you finding your time at the club?

I am really happy with my new club, Pieta Hotspurs. I believe that I am integrating well within the squad and I hope that we can end the season on a positive note.

ghio

Nick Ghio currently players for Pietà Hotspurs.

How can Maltese football improve its worldwide reputation?

In my opinion the Maltese league is already gaining more reputation than it was. When you look at teams such as Birkirkara, Hibs and Valletta, who are obtaining very good results even when they play against some of strongest teams in Europe like West Ham, you can safely say that the level has increased.

You played in the 2014 U17 European Championships. How has this tournament allowed you to establish yourself as a footballer?

The Championships were a great experience for me. In that tournament I had the opportunity to play against some of the best upcoming youngsters in Europe and this is what helps me to improve and move forward in my career.

ghio3

Nick Ghio (right) in action against AC Milan.

What was it like playing against much higher quality opponents?

When playing against higher quality oppositions it is always a lesson which helps me learn and improve on my weaknesses.

Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

I hope that in 10 years time I will be playing football professionally.

ghio auxerre

Nick Ghio was given a taste of professional football during his trial at AJ Auxerre.

Leave a Reply

