FOREST YOUNGSTER MATTY CASH AIMS TO BE A SIMILAR PLAYER TO HENRI LANSBURY

Matty Cash is currently out on loan at League Two side, Dagenham & Redbridge.

The midfielder signed his first professional contract in February 2015.

CASH

Matty Cash is one of Forest’s most promising young midfielders.

The talented midfielder joined Nottingham Forest in October 2014 when he signed from the Football Academy of Bisham.

Cash formed a strong partnership with Adam Crookes in the heart of Forest’s U21 sides’ midfield.

The 18-year-old scored his first professional goal on Saturday when the Daggers faced Hartlepool United at Victoria Park in a 3-1 defeat.

daggers

Matty Cash has impressed for Dagenham & Redbridge.

It’s been over a year since you signed your first professional contract with Nottingham Forest. How has your career progressed in this space of time?

It’s been a massive year and a half and I’ve learnt a lot from working hard on the training pitch every day and learning from the best staff around me. I feel like I’ve progressed massively.

Tyler Walker was one of four players to be rewarded with a professional contract last February. How talented is your fellow Academy graduate?

Tyler’s a fantastic player, in the last year since I’ve been at the club I have seen him grow massively. He’s been in and out of the first team and I am sure he will play at the top level of football as he deserves to. As the years go on he’ll progress as he’s got the best coaching around him.

How much of a role has Academy manager Gary Brazil played on your growth as a player?

Gary’s been a massive part to my progression in the last year and a half. He’s always asking how I’m getting on and he’s always got his eyes on me. He’s also always in contact with me which is a massive thing from such an experienced coach. It’s the same with the other coaches as they all want the best for us.

training

Matty Cash has worked hard under Gary Brazil.

You are currently on loan at Dagenham & Redbridge. How are you finding your time at the club?

I’ve only played two games for them. My first was against Carlisle and my second was against Hartlepool, which I scored in. I’m enjoying my time and experience in the Football League. It’s definitely going to help me improve as a player. Hopefully when I go back to Forest I will be able to step up and break into the first team.

You are currently playing alongside former Arsenal defender, Justin Hoyte. How can young players such as yourself learn from a player with a wealth of experience?

Justin is a credit to have at the club. He is an experienced player and he brings it to the training pitch and in games. He has been really good to me since I’ve been there. I’ve asked him a few stories about his Arsenal career. He’s a really good lad.

Dagenham & Redbridge are 24th in League Two. How disappointing has the season been for the Daggers?

Yeah, we’re 24th in the league but we are a hard working group. We do the right things. We train hard and John’s (Manager, John Still) got us motivated even though we are at the bottom. Our next step is to stay up and hopefully win as many points as we can in the next ten.

dag

Matty Cash has made two appearances for the Daggers

You are nine points away from the safety of 22nd place. How does the team plan to stay in the Football League?

As I said, we are hard working and we will work as hard as we can to stay up. I’m sure we will do it if we keep doing the right things by working hard and listening to the Gaffer’s plans.

Where do you see yourself next season?

Obviously I can’t see into the future but everyday in training I get my head down and try to be better than I was yesterday. Hopefully in the next few years it will start to pay off and I’ll break into the Forest first team which will be my dream but we will have to wait and see.

cash1

Matty Cash has a promising career ahead of him.

Forest have a number of experienced midfielders including Andy Reid, Henri Lansbury and David Vaughan. How do you plan to break into the first team with such quality players?

We definitely have experienced players with Henri, Andy and David. They are a credit to have at the football club and I try to learn off them each and everyday. That will be my next step, to be as good as them. If I keep working hard and doing the right things I’m sure I can be the same player as them.

How can Forest get themselves into the Premier League?

Obviously Forest are a club who deserve to be in the Premiership. We just have to keep fighting for wins. It’s a hard division to get out of but we’ve just got to keep getting wins and hopefully in the next few years we will get there.

Finally, where do you see yourself in 10 years?

Hopefully, in ten years time I will have had a successful career by then. Hopefully I can tell my kids and my wife a few stories, which would be nice. I can’t really judge the future but if I keep doing the right things as I am doing now I can get a career out of the game.

cash2

Matty Cash (right) vs West Brom.

Leave a Reply

