ANDREW BOYCE TALKS ABOUT RUMOURED RETURN TO SINCIL BANK AND NEIL WARNOCK

Lincoln City were linked with a number of players during the 2016 January transfer window.

One signing Imps fans are particularly excited about is centre back, Jamie McCombe. 

McCombe played for a number of Football League clubs including Bristol City and Huddersfield Town after leaving Sincil Bank in 2006.  

Other former Imps were linked with a return to Lincoln City including Scunthorpe United’s Andrew Boyce who left the club in 2014.

lc

Jamie McCombe has rejoined Lincoln City.

In my latest interview I speak to Boyce about his time at Lincoln City and find out if he would return to Sincil Bank.

boyce1

Andrew Boyce during his time at Lincoln City

How did you get into football and what are your first footballing memories?

My first footballing memories are playing on the street as a young kid. One goal was a steel gate and there was another one across the road which was a hedge. I got into football from watching it on TV and played for my first team at 11.

How did you find your time as a Doncaster trainee?

My time at Doncaster was enjoyable but it was all new to me, I got picked up for them at 16. Before I just played mostly for fun but going into full time was more serious and meant more.

boyce2

Andrew Boyce at Doncaster Rovers

Did dropping down to the Conference North, when you signed for Gainsborough, help you grow as a player?

I’d say dropping down into non league from Doncaster helped me grow massively as a player. I was playing against men in proper games whereas sometimes at professional clubs you don’t get that until you are 22/23.

You reached the 2011/12 Playoff final as a Gainsborough player but lost 1-0 to Nuneaton, how disappointed was the squad after such a successful season?

Losing in the Playoff Final with Gainsborough was gutting because we had a chance to go full time and become professional footballers. It would have been amazing for the club as well but it wasn’t meant to be.

boyce22

Andrew Boyce

You were rewarded with a move to Lincoln City after an impressive season with Gainsborough in 2012, how big was this move to help your career progress?

Although it was sad to leave Gainsborough I was buzzing to get a move to Lincoln because I had the chance to be a pro again and test myself, this was important to me as it is a very tough league that’s got a bit of everything.

boyce3

Andrew Boyce was a key player for Gainsborough Trinity

Did you enjoy your football the most during your time at Lincoln City, and do you still speak to any of your former team mates?

I’ve mostly always enjoyed my football and my time at Lincoln was great. We always had a good group and the club has plenty of fans. Yeah, I still speak to a few of the players and quite a few of my old team mates play there now.

Where do you see City finishing this season?

Lincoln had a good win at the weekend that put an end to the bad run of form, they need to get a run now and put some back to back wins together and hopefully get into the Playoffs.

After 60 appearances for Lincoln you joined Scunthorpe on loan before signing permanently in January 2014, how different is the Football League when you compare it to the Conference divisions?

The Football League is similar in a lot of ways but you get a lot more quality as well as the toughness.

boyce

Andrew Boyce training with Lincoln City

You spent time on loan at Grimsby in 2014, how have loan moves helped you develop?

Going to Grimsby definitely helped me, I wasn’t in the team at Scunthorpe as they were on a great run so I had a chance to go to Grimsby and do well. From this I got recalled and broke into the team.

How big are Lincolnshire Derbies from a player’s point of view?

I’ve played in the Lincoln vs Grimsby derby and they are massive, the ground is full to the brim and there is a great atmosphere. It is a great game for a player to be apart of.

Pictures by Duncan Young.12-04-2014.  Grimsby Town V Chester.  Andrew Boyce.

Andrew Boyce spent time at Grimsby on loan.

Your most recent loan move was to Hartlepool, how did you find your time at Victoria Park?

I had a mixed time at Hartlepool, they are a decent club. I don’t feel I played to my full potential and came back with a slight knee injury.

Scunthorpe are currently 13th in League One, what does the new manager need to do once appointed?

I think if a new manager comes in he just needs to get the lads on board with his ways and whoever it is will do well as there is a great group of players at the club.

Neil Warnock has been linked with the Iron job. How would such a manager benefit the club?

I suppose someone like that would be a big statement of where the club wants to be and that could only benefit the side, but I have no idea of who’s in the running to be honest.

nw

Neil Warnock has been linked to the Scunthorpe job.

You were a keen boxer as a youngster, do you still get in the ring now and then?

I still train and spar occasionally, I’ve got a friend who is my size and he is a pro so I sometimes help him out with his sparring.

Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

I see myself nearing the end of my career in football in 10 years time and hopefully I will have another profession of some sort, maybe a real job haha.

Kyle Wootton joined Lincoln City on loan earlier on this season. Did you give any advice to Kyle before he moved?

I just told him to go and enjoy playing games.

kw

Kyle Wootton is a promising young talent.

What was it like to train and play with former Nottingham Forest and Millwall striker, Darius Henderson?

He has become a good friend of mine and he’s good to play against and learn from, he is as tough as they come and is always giving me advice.

Last season you played in goal for Scunthorpe on one occasion. Why did you step up to the task?

I offered to go in goal because I first started out as a goalkeeper, I played half of my first season in goal because I knew I was decent and wasn’t sure if I’d be as good as the other outfielders, it turned out I was haha. It was daunting going in net but I was comfortable doing it and enjoyed the experience.

Scunthorpe United v Bristol City 170115

Andrew Boyce played in goal as a youngster.

Following a number of rumours about a return to Sincil Bank this January, have you ever considered rejoining the Imps?

Lincoln are a club where I enjoyed my football so I’d never not consider going back to somewhere I enjoyed playing.

Chris Moyses has split the fans into two groups regarding their backing. What are your views on the Imps manager and how he does his job?

I get on really well with Chris and I think he’s a good man for the job. He has got a great passion for it and as long as that passes onto the players he will do well.

cmm

Imps boss, Chris Moyses.

When do you think City will return to the Football League and what changes need to be made for them to do so?

I think Lincoln will get back into the Football League at some point. The squad they have has already proven that they can be up there, it just needs to click and get back to winning ways and you never know what might happen.

Leave a Reply

