RUDY BRIFFA TALKS ABOUT HIS FIRST GAME

I speak to Hibernians goalkeeper, Rudy Briffa about some of the first things which have happened in his career.

The 19-year-old is a product of the Hibs Youth Academy and played against PSV earlier on this season.

psv team sheet

Rudy Briffa featured in the Hibernian’s squad for their fixture with PSV.

First game you saw live?

Hibernians vs Birkirkara (2001-2002). It was the final match of The Championship. Hibs were crowned champions, I remember the celebrations held after the game.

rudy

Rudy Briffa

First footballing hero?

Oliver Kahn. My Grandfather told me about him. He is a big fan of the Bundesliga. Every weekend we would watch him play. I kept following him until he retired.

kahn

Oliver Kahn

First pair of boots?

They were Black Diadora’s, actually they were my brothers but I always wanted what he had so he gave them to me.

throwback_thursday_diadora_brasil_italy_img3

Diadora football boots. (IMAGE CREDIT: SoccerBible)

First kit?

It was a Hibs goalkeeper shirt in navy blue, I kept it after we won a tournament.

rudy

Rudy Briffa (left)

First senior game?

It was in the Gozo cup, I came on in the second half when we played against the Gozo XI.

briffa

Rudy Briffa (back row, far right) – Photo Credit: Joe Borg

First shirt number?

I can’t remember it for sure but I think my first shirt number was the number one shirt.

middle

Rudy Briffa (centre)

First penalty save?

We were in the Semi-Final’s of the Under 9’s Cup. The game went to a penalty shoot-out. I saved three penalties.

rudy left

Rudy Briffa (left)

First experience against a larger reputation side?

It was a friendly against PSV, we won 2-1. It was a great experience playing against a top side and it was a great success when we managed to win the game.

psv

Hibs recorded a 2-1 victory over PSV

One thought on “RUDY BRIFFA TALKS ABOUT HIS FIRST GAME

  1. Pingback: RUDY BRIFFA TALKS TO ENGLISH JOURNALIST, CHARLIE RUSSELL

Leave a Reply

