Exclusive Interview: Former Spurs and Valencia Forward Dag Alexander Olsen

In my latest interview I speak to former Tottenham Hotspur and Valencia striker Dag Alexander Olsen.

The Norwegian has already played his part in the January transfer window by joining his hometown club, FK Gjovik-Lyn on a free transfer.

dag8

Dag Alexander Olsen during his time at Valencia.

Dag Alexander Olsen started his career with Norwegian club Gjøvik-Lyn before making a switch to the English Premier League when he signed for Tottenham Hotspur in 2006.

Olsen spent two years at White Hart Lane before signing for Valencia CF in 2008. The forward was a regular with The Bats reserve side, Valencia Mestalla during his time in Spain.

dag9

Dag Alexander Olsen training for Tottenham.

During his four year spell at The Mestalla Stadium, Olsen made three appearances for the senior squad, scoring four goals.

Following his exit from Valencia in 2012, the former Spurs striker returned to his home country where he signed for Odds BK.

dag-alexander-olsen-odd-2-vindbjart-okt-12_d5qsx8fehm0l1xlu403tfk8td

Dag Alexander Olsen playing for ODD

After a short spell with Oddrane, Olsen returned to Spain, this time with CD Castellón where Spain manager Vicente del Bosque spent time during his playing career.

Another move in Olsen’s career followed as the forward moved back to Norway were he played for Fredrikstad FK on a one-year contract.

On 12th January 2016, the former Valencia striker signed for his hometown club, Gjovik-Lyn.

dag3

Dag Alexander Olsen playing for Fredrikstad.


 

You started your career as a youth player at Gjøvik-Lyn before making a move to Tottenham Hotspur. How did you find your time at White Hart Lane?

My time at Spurs was fantastic. I was only 17 and I had no clue how to be alone without my family for a long time. Luckily Spurs offered to pay for six flights and a hotel for my family and friends which helped a lot. I gained so much at Spurs, both as a player but also as a person. I trained a lot with the first team but I was never very close to playing in the Premier League.

dagspurs

Dag Alexander Olsen

John Arne Riise and John Carew are both fine examples of Norwegian internationals to have played in the English Premier League. How disappointed are you that you never got to prove your ability for the Spurs first team?

Yes, both of them are really great players. There was nothing more I would have liked to do than play in the Premier League. I am disappointed but then again there was some very good strikers and wingers in front of me at Spurs. It was still an awesome experience just being able to train with them!

Steffen Iversen is a Norwegian legend who previously played for Spurs. Were your original intentions to follow in Iversen’s footsteps?

I have heard Steffen was a very good striker, but I never watched him play before I went to Spurs, so I can’t say I wanted to follow his footsteps.

dagspurs2

Dag Alexander Olsen during his time at Tottenham.

You signed for Valencia CF in 2008, where you played for their Reserve side. How different was Spanish football to English?

Leaving Spurs for Valencia was a very tough choice, but a very good one at that moment in my career. They offered me a contract which would run for four and a half years. My contract also involved me training with first team every week. The football was different in the style of play and training. There was more possession and through balls for the strikers which was good for me. I played for the first team three times and scored four goals.

dagflip

Dag Alexander Olsen celebrates for Valencia

After four years with Valencia you moved to Odds BK in Norway. Did the fact that you would be moving back to your home country influence this switch?

I wanted more first team football and I wanted to move back home, which I later regretted.

dag

Dag Alexander Olsen

You had a short spell with Spanish club, Castellón. What made you return to Spain?

I broke the anterior cruciate ligament in my knee whilst playing for Odd, so when I was 100% fit again the coach at Castellón rang me and asked if I wanted to play for two months to regain my match fitness whilst helping them out with attacking problems in the squad.

Your previous club was Fredrikstad. Who is the best player you have played with during your career? 

The best player I have played with must be David Silva. There are some other very good players as well, but he has always impressed me. If I had him on my team in training we always won haha!

dag4

Dag Alexander Olsen (centre) vs. Manchester United

Yesterday, you signed for Gjovik-Lyn on a two-year contract. What are you plans for the future?

I have just signed for my hometown club, Gjovik-Lym. I broke my ACL again in August, so I will play and regain fitness then I’ll see what happens.

I regularly report on Maltese and American football, both of which are different levels of quality. Would you ever consider a move to Malta or America?

America would be very cool to look into in the future! When I’m back to 100%  fitness, we can see if I still have that level of football in me to go over there.

What are you predictions for Tottenham in the January transfer window?

They are playing some very attractive football at the minute. If they can’t sign any top players during this transfer window they should not do much as their squad is very strong as it is. I am crossing my fingers for top four spot and Champions League football!

dagdag

Dag Alexander Olsen at Spurs.

Leave a Reply

