QUICK READ: My Fantasy Football Team 2015/16.

Sorry for the lack of posts recently, I have been very busy with school work and other things. I will get back into the flow of things in September. Please take the time to read this quick piece I have wrote following Monday Night Football.

I picked my side early on in July, and made a number of changes leading up to the season opener. I can tell you now; nothing will beat my 2014/15 season heroics. Mainly due to everyone jumping on the Harry Kane band wagon. But I’ll explain that in more detail later on. 


MY FANTASY FOOTBALL TEAM

MY FANTASY FOOTBALL TEAM

GK: Hugo Lloris (Tottenham Hotspur)

This was one of the hardest decisions I made when putting together Pavlyuchenko’s XI. I made a number of changes with David De Gea, Petr Cech, Simon Mignolet, and Thibaut Courtois all making an appearance before I finally confirmed my choice. This man was Hugo Lloris. Lloris may be seen as a risky choice especially with injury problems in Pre-Season. I can see Lloris racking up loads of points this season. I love his style of play (The Sweeper) and the fact that he is the Spurs and France captain proves he is one of the best goalkeepers in the World.

CB: Nathaniel Clyne (Liverpool)

Liverpool’s new boy was one of the best defenders last year and signing for a new bigger and better club can only be a positive for the talented youngster. As soon as the 24 year old starts to make even more England appearances, Clyne will be one of the best products to come out of England in recent years.

CB: Toby Alderweireld (Tottenam Hotspur)

This was a risky decision for me. As a Spurs fan I hate to admit the fact… we don’t really have the reputation for a solid defence. We have very talented players but in a “Spursy” way things just don’t seem to go right when needed. Alderweireld can hopefully make a difference this year, especially with the fact that he has Premier League experience with Southampton.

CB: Phil Jagielka (Everton)

Jagielka doesn’t get the credit he deserves. Most people just look out for the foreign talent, such as Vincent Kompany for example. But as a defender myself I have huge amounts of respect for Jagielka. The 6ft Centre Back has over 200 appearances for both Sheffield United and Everton. I have always included Jagielka in my Fantasy Football side for the past few years and hopefully this year he can earn the points he has in previous years.

MID: Gylfi Sigurðsson (Swansea)

Sigurðsson is a very talented player in my eyes and I was a fan of his prior to his move to Spurs. His Free-Kicks are an act of god. Since returning to Swansea after a brief spell at White Hart Lane, the Iceland international has returned to the player which earned him the Spurs move in the first place. Alongside a number of talented midfielders I feel Siggy will be brilliant when it comes to earning me points.

MID: Jordan Henderson (Liverpool)

Another class midfielder shows how seriously I am taking this year’s Fantasy Football. Henderson was outstanding last season and since becoming the Liverpool captain, Hendo will perform just as well this year, maybe even better. The midfielder’s next game is against Arsenal and I’m sure this will be a great chance to earn me points if Liverpool play well.

MID: Eden Hazard (Chelsea)

The Premier League’s best player (in my eyes) had to be included in this year’s squad. This is also why I have made him my captain, because I’m sure he will earn the most points out of any player this season. Chelsea losing to Man City hasn’t been the best situation for my star player but I’m sure his individual performance this season will make up for any of Chelsea’s poor performances.

MID: James McCarthy (Everton)

I loved McCarthy during his time at Wigan and I’ve always been a fan. McCarthy may not be everyone’s first choice midfielder but I can see him being my secret weapon. Two games in and he already has the same amount of points as Eden Hazard… what can I say? Pure Class.

MID: David Silva (Man City)

Silva is another player I have admired for a number of years and he is one of the best midfielders in the Premier League. Silva is the finishing touch to my point snatching midfield. The World Cup winner was outstanding on Boxing Day 2014, and this wasn’t the only time we saw Silva shine through as a Star Player for City last season.

ST: Harry Kane (Tottenham)

Rewind to August last year, where a certain Charlie Russell was relaxing on his roof terrace in Spain.

I got a text from my mate Lammerz asking if I’d be interested in joining his Fantasy Football League and of course being the massive football fan I am, I knew I’d smash everyone in the league… which I did, but this was due to the help from some lad called Harry Kane.

“Who’s Harry Kane?” That was the question from one of my mates and many football fans in August 2014.

Well Harry Kane is the lad I have had faith in since day one. Kane was placed in my 2014/15 team as a last minute choice due to the fact I had no money left at all for a big name. This decision changed my life. 21 Goals later and I had made the best decision known to man when it comes to Fantasy Football. My little number 18 had become a super star, but more importantly won me every Fantasy Football League I was involved in.

This year I debated putting Kane in the squad due to the fact that he might turn into another Michu, Papiss Cissé, or Demba Ba. I can see Kane scoring goals this year but not as many as last season.

ST: Diego Costa

A world class striker, who when fit, can score as many goals as you ask for. Costa was a no brainer when it came to picking my side. I just hope he doesn’t get injured which would leave me with Lee Tomlin as my only other strike option (No offence Lee!).

BENCH:

Brad Guzan (Aston Villa) – Guzan is a respected keeper and a great second choice when given such a restricted budget.

Reece Burke (West Ham) – Burke is one of the best youngsters coming up through the West Ham ranks. I have been lucky enough to meet the defender and I can tell you now, he’s one to look out for.

Lee Tomlin (Bournemouth) – The £3.5million star was another signing on a budget. Tomlin has scored goals in the Football League and if he is desperately needed he will make an appearance in my 2015/16 Fantasy Football side.

Ryan Bennett (Norwich) – Bennett is another budget signing. No disrespect to Ryan but he isn’t going to win me any leagues on his own.

So yeah that’s my team! I hope you enjoyed reading about my choices! Send me your team choices on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

