Exclusive Interview: 2 Minutes with Ex-Millwall Youngster Sahr Kabba

Sahr Kabba started his footballing career as a youngster at Football League side, Millwall. The talented striker made a move to Bristol Rovers in order to develop as a footballer.

Following departure from The Gas, Kabba played a brief spell at Almondsbury Town before moving onto Weston-Super-Mare in August 2010, where he spent two years regularly scoring goals for The Seagulls. In the Summer of 2012, Kabba moved to Westleigh Park where he scored 19 goals and became a fans favourite for Havant & Waterlooville.

In June 2014, Lincolnshire side, Lincoln City signed the striker on a one-year deal for an undisclosed fee. After a number of injuries restricting Kabba to the sidelines, he was loaned to Whitehawk in order to regain his fitness and form he was known for during his time at Havant & Waterlooville.

Following his release from City, Kabba signed a deal with Gloucester City which kept him at Whaddon Road until the end of the season. This meant Kabba would join up with close friend Femi Orenuga whilst playing his trade for The Tigers. The Gloucester City striker became an instant hit for The Tigers as he managed to score with his first touch before netting a second against Hyde.


07-sahr-kabba169-1802531_231x264Name: Sahr Kabba

DOB: 13/04/1989

Weight: 74kg

Height: 5’5

Shirt number: 10

Boots: Nike Mercurial Vapor


What was it like being part of the Millwall setup at a young age?

I joined the Millwall set up as a 14 year old and was there for a short time, I left because I didn’t enjoy it, I didn’t know much about professional teams, I was just focused on having fun and enjoying football with my mates.

What made you move to the Bristol City academy?

I was invited to a trial as a 17 year old, I was successful and gained a place in the academy, so I decided to move to Bristol from London.

You joined Havant in 2012 and became a fans favourite, is this where you were at your happiest?

Yes both Havant and Weston-Super-Mare have been the highs of my career so far, it’s where I played my best football. I enjoyed my time there.

How did you find your time at Lincoln City?

Lincoln was a good experience, it was good to train full-time and it was also good to be part of such a big club.

How hard did you find it to break into the Lincoln side?

Well my time at Lincoln was blighted by injuries, so I couldn’t really show the fans what I can do. The injury really set me back and it became a struggle to try get in the team.

Was your loan to Whitehawk the only way to get your fitness back for first team football?

Well playing games is the best way to gain match fitness, I enjoyed my time at Whitehawk, it was a good experience, I felt sharp when I came back from my loan spell. So I would say it helped me gain match fitness

How are you finding Gloucester City?

Yeah Gloucester City is a good club, and yeah I’m finding it really good, but I have not played as many games due to injury and suspensions.

Is it enjoyable playing with a fellow friend in Femi Orenuga?

Yeah it’s always good to play with friends, you enjoy it a bit more, because you try to play well so you can brag about it on the way home, plus I realise we get the best out of each other.

Kabba, an instant hit with Gloucester City fans

Kabba, an instant hit with Gloucester City fans

Leave a Reply

