Exclusive Interview: 60 Seconds with Luxol Striker Matteo Desira Buttigieg

Matteo Desire Buttigieg is an up and coming talent within Maltese football. He currently plays for Luxol where he has been awarded this years top scorer award and is currently placed fourth in the league’s top scorers with 11 goals. The talented forward has represented Malta at U19 level and has also had trials at English sides Plymouth and Ipswich Town.

The striker celebrating a goal against Melita

The striker celebrating a goal against Melita


How did you get into football? As a young boy I used to go watch my brother playing, so I decided to start training myself. I also used to play with my brother in the street.

Who was your footballing hero? My hero was Stevie G (Steven Gerrard) but I also used to love watching Thierry Henry.

What team did you support as a child? As a child I always supported Liverpool.

Where do you see yourself in 10 years? In 10 years I see myself playing regularly in the Premier division as well as playing for the National team.

What’s the strongest part of your game? The strongest part of my game is my goal scoring abilities and as everyone says I am the Maltese Inzaghi.

Where could you improve your game? I think there’s always more room for improvement in football and I will continue training to improve my game in many ways.

Matteo Desira Buttigieg vs Scotland U19

Matteo Desira Buttigieg vs Scotland U19

Leave a Reply

