Interview: Lincoln City Goalkeeper Paul Farman

Highly respected goalkeeper Paul Farman started his career at Newcastle United before a move to Blyth Spartans. Following this he had brief spells at Monkseaton Academy and Washington before a 2009 summer move to Gateshead.

During a 2011/12 loan spell to Lincoln City, Farman made a total of eight appearances with two clean sheets. But the shot stopper had to return up North due to an unfortunate groin strain.

He made a permanent switch to Sincil Bank in May 2012 and after an impressive performance in his first season, the goalkeeper signed a two year contract which runs out at the end of the current 2014/15 season.

Paul Farman shows his passion for Lincoln City.

Paul Farman shows his passion for Lincoln City.


This is your third season since joining Lincoln City initially on loan in 2011/12, how do you feel the club have progressed in this time?

PF: It has been a slow progress so far but as a individual I feel I have come far, but now with new management who have taken over I feel this club can go far. They have high ambitions and targets and I feel progression is possible under them.

How did your loan at Boston United help with your development as a player?

PF: It did help as I came into pre season very fit after a hard summers training after injury, I needed games and I wanted to play for somebody local. Boston was ideal for me, I really enjoyed my time there, they have a great bunch of lads and staff there! I honestly think if I wasn’t recalled I would still be there now! But I got recalled by Lincoln and every time I put on that shirt and walk onto that pitch I get a great feeling from Sincil Bank.

Paul Farman during his loan move to Boston United.

Paul Farman during his loan move to Boston United.

Where do you see Lincoln City in five years?

PF: I honestly think Lincoln City will be back in the Football League! I think it is a must for the club really and great for the city as it has all the potential to be done.

If you weren’t a footballer what profession do you think you would be in?

PF: If I wasn’t a a footballer I really don’t know what I would be doing, probably something in the fitness industry or I would like to train to become a Body builder as mad as it sounds, it really takes dedication to do that and I would like the test myself. Or another option would be to work offshore on the oil rigs!

Following Saturday’s 2-0 defeat to Conference struggler’s Welling, how do you think the team will perform against Alfreton on Tuesday?

PF: It like any other game after you have lost, as a team you really want to bounce back with a good performance and get three points!

How did you feel during Nick Townsends’ spell as first team goalkeeper?

PF: As I have done before in my career I was let down when he was brought in but I was willing to fight for my place and get my head down! We were good pals and it was a good healthy competition between us, we really did push each other on in training, it was great banter and he is a top lad.

Nick Townsend.

Nick Townsend.

Since returning to number one, how do you think you could you improve your game?

PF: I like to analyse my game after previous games and watch it back to myself. That Is how I work on things I think I need to Improve. It helps a great deal watching it back! I am my biggest critic and most harsh one but I think that is a good thing.

Paul Farman during training.

Paul Farman during training.

What is your most proudest moment as a Lincoln City player?

PF: Quite possibly the first league game when I walked out at Sincil Bank after signing my contract under (David) Holdsworth.

What is your biggest achievement as a Lincoln City player?

PF: It was a great achievement to get back from my injury and get my number one spot back after the injury and hard times.

Paul Farman

Paul Farman

You’ve seen a lot of players come and go at Sincil Bank, who do you think has gone onto become the best player since leaving?

PF: When Vadaine (Oliver) came and signed for us I always thought he would do well in the game. He scored goals every time he played and is a very physical lad, players like him get moves and he is still playing in the Football League, well done to him!

Vadaine Oliver

Vadaine Oliver

2 thoughts on “Interview: Lincoln City Goalkeeper Paul Farman

  1. great interview Paul and glad to know that you are part of the extended family. I really can see who you look like (I will leave that up to you to find out!!!!!!!!!! (Eileen your mams aunt……….

    Like

  2. Pingback: Team Mates: Paul Farman | Charlie Russell: elwriteback

Leave a Reply

