Exclusive Interview: Floriana and Malta U21 Goalkeeper Matthew Calleja Cremona

During the January transfer window, Floriana secured the services of the Maltese U21 goalkeeper Matthew Calleja Cremona on loan until the end of the season from Division 1 side Pembroke Athleta. The 20 year old shot stopper had been playing regular football for the Division 1 giants as they pushed for promotion to the Maltese Premier League. Calleja Cremona’s loan deal was completed after Italian goalkeeper Valerio Senatore was forced to the side lines with injury after joining Floriana in the Summer Transfer Window.

10993962_1558615114393701_5461283313480670648_n

Matthew Calleja Cremona

MCC = Matthew Calleja Cremona (Floriana)

CR = Charlie Russell (elwriteback)

If you could play alongside one player, who would it be and why?

MCC: It would be great to play with Steven Gerrard on my team, I really admire his passion for football and especially his leadership qualities. I have read his book, it’s worth a read.

Liverpool Captain, Steven Gerrard lifts the Champions League

Liverpool Captain, Steven Gerrard lifts the Champions League

Who was your boyhood team? And who was your favourite player for them?

MCC: I support AC Milan but I’m not a big fan. Kaka was my favourite, he’s a top class player, I always enjoyed watching him play.

AC Milan Legend, Kaka.

AC Milan Legend, Kaka.

What is the proudest moment so far in your playing career?

MCC: Every time we won a championship or promotion with my local town, Pembroke. I was also part of a team who wrote history by achieving honours for the first time in the clubs history. Being called up to the U21 National Team was also one of my proudest moments. If I make my debut then that would become my proudest moment.

Matthew Calleja Cremona (Middle)

Matthew Calleja Cremona (Middle)

How are you finding Floriana?

MCC: Things are great at Floriana. It’s an honour to play for a club with such great history in Maltese football. There is a young squad here with great potential and I found it easy to fit in. I’m enjoying every game I play with the Greens!

Which area of your game do you think you need to improve the most?

MCC: I feel I need to improve my distribution.

Matthew Calleja Cremona

Matthew Calleja Cremona at Floriana

Thanks to Matthew for taking the time to take part in this interview.

3 thoughts on “Exclusive Interview: Floriana and Malta U21 Goalkeeper Matthew Calleja Cremona

  1. Pingback: 60 SECOND LUNCH TIME READ! Malta U21 Goalkeeper Matthew Calleja Cremona Picks His All Time XI | Charlie Russell: elwriteback

  2. Pingback: Should Lincoln City look abroad for young talent? | Charlie Russell: elwriteback

  3. Pingback: MFPA AWARDS 2016: SHORTLIST ANNOUNCED | Charlie Russell: elwriteback

Leave a Reply

